Network Warning: For the latest information regarding Covid-19 and your telecommunications services, visit: http...

June 19th, 2017

Waitsfield and Champlain Valley Telecom is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Eunice B. Farr Incentive Award scholarships.  “It is a pleasure to award these scholarships on an annual basis.  We wish these motivated students the best of luck in their future endeavors,” said Gregg Haskin, President and CEO of Waitsfield and Champlain Valley Telecom. This year’s recipients were as follows:

Champlain Valley Union High School – Cody Fournier – Hinesburg

Harwood Union High School – Evan Pearl – Moretown

Mount Abraham Union High School – Taylor Morrow – Essex Junction

Mount Mansfield Union High School – Nicholas Metruk – Huntington

Middlebury Union High School – Alan James Campbell – E. Middlebury

Vergennes High School – Lillian Russell – Addison

Each year, Waitsfield and Champlain Valley Telecom grants six scholarships, one to each of the public high schools that students from our service area attend.  These scholarships are donated in memory of the late Eunice B. Farr, former owner and operator of the Waitsfield-Fayston Telephone Company and grandmother of Gregg Haskin.  The criteria of the scholarship is as follows, “The award should be presented to a graduating senior that plans subsequent education, be it college or trade school.  The faculty should select an individual that has shown a steady improvement in his or her academics, but is not necessarily at the top of the class.  The award is designed to benefit a hard working graduate that his or her instructors have found to demonstrate a sincere effort to improve grades/results and plans continuing education.”